Call for Papers



The 12th annual IEEE SECON conference will provide a unique forum to exchange innovative research ideas, recent results, and share experiences among researchers and practitioners in wireless networks and mobile systems. The focus of IEEE SECON is novel communication technologies and emerging applications and services, involving mobile sensing and communication, and ubiquitous and pervasive computing. In addition to the traditional topics published in IEEE SECON, this year the conference would like to especially encourage papers in emerging applications and services in areas related to Internet of Things, 5G, small cells, wearable computing, and Software Defined Networking for mobile and wireless networks.

Papers describing original, previously unpublished research work, experimental efforts, practical experiences, and industrial and commercial developments in all aspects of sensor networks, mobile devices, and wireless communication are solicited. Within this domain, particular topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Experience with deployment of mobile apps, networks and systems
  • Software Defined Networking for mobile and wireless networks
  • Wearable computing
  • White space, cooperative and cognitive communications
  • Network management for mobile devices, including data consumption, energy consumption, and performance
  • Novel smartphone-based sensing systems, tools, applications and experiences
  • Novel applications: cyber-physical systems, Internet of Things, distributed mobile computing
  • New communication technologies, such as NFC, visible light, underwater communication
  • Low power and energy limited sensing and communications, including energy-harvesting
  • Cellular communications and data networks, such as cellular small cells and 5G
  • Measurement of wireless and sensor systems, and novel experimental testbeds
  • Security, privacy, and trustworthiness of mobile, wireless and sensor systems
  • Survivability, network management, and fault tolerance
  • Application protocols and cross-layer design

Papers should neither have been published elsewhere nor currently under review by another venue. All papers for IEEE SECON 2015 must be submitted via EDAS at Papers must be no longer than 9 pages and in font size no smaller than 10 points. Additional paper submission instructions will be made available on the IEEE SECON website Papers that violate the format guidelines will be rejected without review.

To be published in the IEEE SECON 2015 Conference Proceedings and to be eligible for publication in IEEE Xplore®, an author of an accepted paper is required to register for the conference at the full (member or non-member) rate and the paper must be presented by an author of that paper at the conference unless the TPC Chair grants permission for a substitute presenter arranged in advance of the event and who is qualified both to present and answer questions. Non-refundable registration fees must be paid prior to uploading the final IEEE formatted, publication-ready version of the paper. For authors with multiple accepted papers, one full registration is valid for up to 3 papers. Accepted and presented papers will be published in the IEEE 2015 Conference Proceedings and submitted to IEEE Xplore® as well as other Abstracting and Indexing (A&I) databases.

The organizers of IEEE SECON 2015 as well as our attendees expect accepted papers to be presented at the conference. IEEE reserves the right to exclude a paper from distribution after the conference (e.g., removal from IEEE Xplore) if the paper is not presented at the conference.

Abstract Registration: 5 December 2014 12 December 2014, 16:00 PST (Extended abstract deadline)
Paper Submission Deadline: 12 December 2014, 16:00 PST (Strict & final deadline)

Acceptance Notification: 13 March 2015
Camera Ready: 10 April 2015




General Chair:
Suresh Singh, Portland State University,


TPC Co-Chairs:
Sharad Agarwal, Microsoft Research, USA,

Song Chong, KAIST, Korea,


Technical Program Vice Chair for Information Systems:
Kyunghan Lee, UNIST,


Publicity Co-Chairs:
Aline Carneiro Viana, INRIA,
Jungmin So, Hallym University,


Demo Chair:
Srihari Nelakuditi, U of S. Carolina,


Poster Chair:
Thanh Dang,


Panel Chair:
Raju Pandey, UC Davis and Synapsense Inc.,


Web Chair:
Tian Lan, George Washington University,


Publications Chair:
Guiling Wang, NJIT,


Travel Grants Co-Chairs:
Ranga Rao Venkata Prasad, TU Delft, Netherlands,
Joseph Camp, SMU,


Workshop Co-Chairs:
Ehsan Aryafar, Intel/Princeton,
Xinyu Zhang, U. Wisconsin, Madison,

Local Arrangements/Finance Chair:
Eduardo Cuervo Laffaye, MSR,